Travel stories (physical)

Ode to mountains (Poem)

dsc_0231
The Cobbler, Loch Lomond, July 2016

 ‘You’re not my first, you’re not my last,

but when I look up, I love and gasp.

Standing in shadow in awe of you,

my heart has flown, my legs turn glue.

dsc_0116
Ben Lawers, Ben Lawers National Nature Reserve, May 2016

Colluding with the changing skies,

you bellow down and call to me.

With all the differing landscape styles,

I wonder what today will be.

dsc_1434
Quinag: Spidean Coinich, Assynt and Coigach, July 2015

Depleted by the big steep climbs,

my belly rumbles, muscles ache.

Laughing, crying, I’m don’t stop,

lashed by blizzards, I’ve gone insane.

img-20160318-wa0122
Stob Dubh, Glencoe Mountain Range, March 2016

But continue on, the peak awaits,

a victory touch, a cairn does greet.

As I picnic in the sun,

I forget the treachery has just begun.

Leave a Reply

